devotion

A letter written by a young communist to his fiancee before breaking off their engagement:

There is one thing in which I am in dead earnest about, and that is the communist cause. It is my life, my business, my religion, my hobby, my sweetheart, my wife, and my mistress, my bread and meat.

I work at it in the daytime and dream of it at night. Its hold on me grows, not lessens, as time goes on; therefore, I cannot carry on a friendship, a love affair, or even a conversation without relating it to this force that both drives and guides my life. I evaluate people, books, ideas and actions according to how they affect the communist cause, and by their attitude toward it.

I’ve already been in jail because of my ideals, and if necessary, I’m ready to go before the firing squad.

O that we would live for Christ with even greater dedication than even this!

Leave a Reply

